Iron
Helm	Campaign	Rules	Summary	and	FAQ	(June	2020)	v1.0	
             A	big	thanks	to	the	game’s	designer,	Jason	Glover,	for	his	review	and	input.		
For	Reference:	
Base	Game	–	Iron	Helm	(You	can	think	of	this	as	a	Level	1	Adventure)	
Adventure	Pack	1	–	Warren	of	Despair	(A	Level	2	Adventure)	
Adventure	Pack	2	–	Blackened	Burrow	(A	Level	3	Adventure)	
Adventure	Pack	3	–	Galnok’s	Labyrinth	(A	Level	2	Adventure)	
Adventure	Pack	4	–	Crystal	Caverns	(A	Level	3	Adventure)	
Adventure	Pack	5	–	Future	Release	(Presumably	a	Level	2	Adventure)	
Adventure	Pack	6	–	Future	Release	(Presumably	a	Level	3	Adventure)		
These	adventures	increase	in	difficulty	as	you	move	from	the	base	game	to	Level	2	adventures	and	
then	to	Level	3	adventures.		
How	would	I	play	a	campaign	of	Iron	Helm?	
• A	campaign	consists	of	3	or	more	adventures	played	in	succession	–	the	base	game,	followed	by	
    one	or	more	Level	2	adventures	followed	by	one	ore	more	Level	3	adventures.		You	use	one	
    character	from	the	base	game	or	from	any	of	the	Adventure	Packs	for	the	entire	campaign.		
Example:		I	choose	Ozzlo	(from	Adv.	Pack	1)	and	decide	to	play	a	3-adventure	campaign	consisting	of	
the	base	game	followed	by	Galnok’s	Labyrinth	(Adv.	Pack	3)	followed	by	Blackened	Burrow	(Adv.	
Pack	2.)		I	decide	to	use	my	starting	gold	to	purchase	the	Moon	Dagger	(a	trapping	from	Galnok’s	
Labyrinth.)		
Example:		I	choose	Qara	(from	Adv.	Pack	2)	and	decide	to	play	a	longer	5-adventure	campaign	
consisting	of	the	base	game	followed	by	Warren	of	Despair	(Adv.	Pack	1)	followed	by	Galnok’s	
Labyrinth	(Adv.	Pack	3)	followed	by	Blackened	Burrow	(Adv.	Pack	2)	followed	by	Crystal	Caverns	
(Adv.	Pack	4.)		I	decide	to	use	my	starting	gold	to	purchase	the	Battle	Axe	(a	trapping	from	Warren	of	
Despair.)		
• If	at	any	point	you	die	–	you	lose	and	your	campaign	is	over.	
• If	you	survive	all	the	adventures	in	your	campaign	–	you	win.		
What	carries	over	between	adventures?	
• All	your	skills,	loot,	potions,	gold,	trappings	and	morality	carry	over	from	adventure	to	adventure.		
What	else	happens	between	adventures	and	how	does	my	character	get	ready	for	the	next	
adventure?	
You	visit	the	Lonely	Troll	tavern	and	inn	between	adventures	and	do	the	following:	
• Recover	to	your	character’s	full	health	and	full	energy.	
• Remove	all	poison	from	your	character.	
• You	can	use	your	gold	acquired	from	your	recently	completed	adventure	(and	starting	gold	for	
    your	upcoming	adventure)	to	acquire	any	trappings	from	either	the	base	game	or	any	of	the	
    Adventure	Packs.	
• If	there	were	any	enemies	you	defeated	in	your	recently	completed	adventure	that	you	did	not	
    use	to	acquire	skills	then	you	can	sell	these	back	as	trophies	for	1	gold	each.	
• During	this	“trappings	acquisition	phase”	you	still	need	to	observe	your	character’s	encumbrance	
    requirements.	
As	I	prepare	for	my	next	adventure,	do	I	receive	the	gold	amount	on	my	character	card	in	
addition	to	the	gold	I	acquired	in	the	recently	completed	adventure?	
Yes.		
And	can	I	combine	all	this	gold	to	acquire	any	trappings	from	either	the	base	game	or	any	of	
the	Adventure	Packs?	
Yes.		
Can	I	sell	back	any	loot,	potions,	or	trappings	in	between	adventures?	
No.			
You	can	discard	any	of	these	items	to	make	room	for	new	trappings	that	you	purchase.	
Any	discarded	loot	and/or	potions	from	the	base	game	are	always	added	back	into	their	respective	
decks	for	all	future	adventures.	
Any	discarded	loot	from	Adventure	Packs	are	not	added	back	into	the	loot	deck	for	all	future	
adventures.		
If	you	discard	any	trappings,	they	are	gone	from	the	campaign.		
Example:		I	finish	the	base	game	with	Azzlar	(a	character	from	Galnok’s	Labyrinth)	with	3	gold,	1	
ration	token,	2	health,	2	energy	and	1	poison.		I	had	items	(loot,	potions,	and	trappings)	with	an	
encumbrance	of	8	(Azzlar’s	maximum).		I	had	1	defeated	enemy	that	I	had	not	used	to	acquire	a	skill.	
In	between	adventures,:	
• I	discard	my	ration	token.	
• I	reset	Azzlar’s	health	to	14	and	his	energy	to	11	(their	respective	maximums).	
• I	remove	the	poison	token.	
• I	sell	back	my	defeated	(unused	for	a	skill)	enemy	for	1	gold.		Azzlar	starts	each	adventure	with	4	
     gold.		I	had	3	gold	from	the	recently	completed	adventure.		I	have	8	gold	to	spend	on	trappings	
     and	buy	Hulnot’s	Brew	(from	Galnok’s	Labyrinth)	for	2	gold.		I	keep	6	gold	to	start	my	next	
     adventure.		In	order	to	not	exceed	my	encumbrance	limit,	I	discard	the	Wooden	Staff	and	it	is	
     removed	from	the	game.		
After	an	adventure,	what	happens	to	discarded	loot	and	potion	cards	that	were	placed	in	their	
respective	discard	piles	during	a	recent	adventure?	
They	are	all	always	restocked	and	used	in	the	next	adventure	and	all	future	adventures.		
During	a	recent	adventure,	I	chose	to	discard	a	trapping	card	during	my	game	–	is	this	
trapping	gone	from	the	campaign?	
Yes.		
Do	Rations	carry	over?	
No.		Your	rations	tokens	do	not	carry	over	and	are	discarded	as	you	prepare	for	your	new	adventure.	
You	start	each	adventure	with	ration	tokens	as	indicated	on	your	character	card.		
If	I	have	the	Rations	trappings	card,	does	that	carry	over	or	must	I	discard	it?	
You	must	discard	it	and	receive	2	rations	that	you	can	take	with	you	on	your	next	adventure.		
Does	Morality	carry	over	or	do	I	always	start	the	next	adventure	at	zero	morality?	
Yes,	Morality	carries	over	in	all	cases	whether	it’s	positive,	negative	or	zero.		
How	does	scoring	work	in	a	campaign?	
You	don’t	keep	score	in	between	adventures.			
When	you	complete	your	final	adventure,	you	compute	your	score	according	to	the	standard	rules.		
How	do	I	mix	the	various	Adventure	Packs	and	the	base	game?	
All	characters,	all	skills,	and	all	trappings	from	all	Adventure	Packs	are	available	at	the	start	of	any	
game	whether	you	play	a	campaign	or	a	single	game.		
Enemies,	loot,	bosses,	and	plot	cards	from	each	Adventure	Pack	are	only	used	when	you	play	that	
particular	adventure	(whether	a	single	game	or	a	campaign.)		
Follow	the	instructions	on	each	Adventure	Pack	instruction	card:		
You	will	remove	enemies	from	the	base	game	(and	from	all	other	Adventure	Packs)	and	replace	them	
with	enemies	from	the	Adventure	Pack	you	are	getting	ready	to	play.		
You	will	remove	the	plot	cards	from	the	base	game	(and	from	all	other	Adventure	Packs)	and	replace	
them	with	the	plot	cards	from	the	Adventure	Pack	you	are	getting	ready	to	play.		
You	shuffle	that	Adventure	Pack’s	loot	into	the	loot	deck.		
You	will	always	fight	the	boss	indicated	on	each	Adventure	Pack	during	that	adventure.		
All	the	skills	and	trappings	from	the	Adventure	Pack	you	are	getting	ready	to	play	(as	well	as	skills	
and	trappings	from	all	the	Adventure	Packs,	whether	you’ve	played	them	yet	in	your	campaign	or	
not,	are	available.)		
I	am	playing	a	campaign	and	won	the	base	game.		I	then	played	a	Level	2	adventure,	replacing	
the	base	game	enemies	and	plot	cards	with	the	appropriate	enemies	from	my	Level	2	
adventure	–	I	then	won	my	Level	2	adventure.		How	do	I	set	things	up	for	my	Level	3	
adventure?	
• You	will	remove	all	the	Level	2	enemies	that	were	used	during	this	recently	played	adventure.	
• You	will	remove	all	Level	2	loot	that	was	used	during	this	recently	played	adventure	(except	the	
    Level	2	loot	you	obtained	during	the	adventure.)	
• You	will	then	add	the	Level	3	enemies	from	your	upcoming	adventure	to	the	base	game	enemy	
    deck.	
• You	will	then	add	the	Level	3	loot	from	your	upcoming	adventure	to	the	base	game	loot	deck.		
So	any	adventures	beyond	the	base	game	only	ever	include	enemies	from	the	base	game	and	
enemies	from	the	particular	adventure	I’m	going	to	play?	
Yes.		
And	any	adventures	beyond	the	base	game	only	ever	include	plot	cards	from	the	base	game	
and	plot	cards	from	the	particular	adventure	I’m	going	to	play?	
Yes.		
And	any	adventures	beyond	the	base	game	only	ever	include	loot	from	the	base	game	and	loot	
from	the	particular	adventure	I’m	going	to	play?	
Yes.		
I	acquired	a	loot	card	during	a	Level	2	adventure.		I	then	discarded	this	loot	card	either	during	
the	same	adventure	or	in	between	this	adventure	and	my	Level	3	adventure.		Is	this	loot	card	
gone	from	the	campaign	or	would	it	be	reshuffled	into	my	upcoming	Level	3	adventure?	
If	it’s	a	loot	card	from	any	adventure	(other	than	the	base	game)	it	is	discarded	and	won’t	be	used	for	
the	remainder	of	the	campaign.		
Can	I	play	a	single	game	of	an	Adventure	Pack?			
Yes,	although	it	will	likely	be	tougher	than	the	base	game.	
Remember,	you	can	use	any	character	and	purchase	any	trappings	from	any	Adventure	Pack.		
Additionally,	any	skills	from	any	Adventure	Pack	can	be	acquired	during	your	game.