Release Date: 10 Oct, 2024



#### Finalists: 2024 Rising Stars of Light

We'd like to first thank all of the nominators and applicants for their strong support, which makes it extremely challenging to select the finalists. After careful selection by the Committee, we'd like to congratulate the finalists as below:

#### **Faculty Track (in alphabetical order):**

Chengying Bao, Assistant Professor from Tsinghua University, China Sergio Carbajo, Assistant Professor from UCLA, USA Emiliano Cortés, Associate Professor from University of Munich, Germany Tingyi Gu, Associate Professor from University of Delaware, USA Robert Hoye, Associate Professor from University of Oxford, UK Yaowen Hu, Assistant Professor from Peking University, China Deep Jariwala, Associate Professor from University of Pennsylvania, USA

# Before Faculty Track (in alphabetical order):

Souvik Biswas, postdoc from Stanford University, USA Qitong Li, postdoc from Stanford University, USA Guigeng Liu, postdoc from Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Xueqian Sun, postdoc from Australian National University, Australia Yuqi Sun, postdoc from University of Cambrige, UK Haoning Tang, postdoc from Harvard University, USA
Fan O. Wu, postdoc from Cornell University, USA
Fei Xia, postdoc from French National Centre for Scientific Research, France
\*Please note that due to equal average grades by committee, 7 finalists from Faculty
Track and 8 finalists from Before Faculty Track have been selected\*

#### **Committee Members**

## **Committee of Faculty Track**



Chair, Aydogan Ozcan, University of California, Los Angeles, Chancellor's Professor



Co-Chair, Lan Yang, Washington University in St. Louis, Edwin H. & Florence G. Skinner Professor



Co-Chair, Andrea Alù, City University of New York, CUNY Distinguished Professor & Einstein Professor of Physics



Co-Chair, Min Qiu, Westlake University, Chair Professor of Photonics and Vice President



Co-Chair, Dragomir Neshev, Australian National University and Australian Research Council, Professor and Director of ARC Centre of Excellence for Transformative Meta-Optical Systems

### **Committee of Before Faculty Track**



Chair, Martin Booth, University of Oxford, Statutory Professor of Electrical Engineering and Chair in Optical and Photonic Engineering



Co-Chair, Na Liu, University of Stuttgart, Professor



Co-Chair, Shuang Zhang, University of Hong Kong, Chair Professor



Co-Chair, Mona Jarrahi, University of California, Los Angeles, Professor and Northrop Grumman Endowed Chair



Co-Chair, Igor Aharonovich, University of Technology Sydney, Professor