

Report from the new Corporate Reporting Committee

As our President, Philip Joos, informed in the last Newsletter, after the very successful meeting on October 23, 2018, on the wider role of corporate reporting, the Management Committee decided to establish a new committee, the Corporate Reporting Committee (CRC). With the CRC, EAA wants to actively participate in the debate about how companies can and should inform the wide variety of stakeholders about their activities and their impact on society in general. In addition, since non-financial information is increasingly atracting the interest of policy makers and standard setters, with the new committee EAA aims to create awareness of the policy issues on these matters, and collaborate with them so that the academic community can have an impact on new policies and standards.

The recently created CRC is made up of a group of academics of recognized prestige who have been actively involved in EAA activities. All have an extensive experience in research in non-financial reporting, among other areas, and the most important thing they are very interested in addressing the new challenge of the EAA. As you can see below, it is a well balanced group of in terms of gender and universities:

Charles Cho Schulich School of Business, York University

Elizabeth Demers HEC Lausanne

Begoña Giner (CHAIR) University of Valencia

Laura Girella University of Genova

Peter Kajüter University of Münster

Lucia Lima Rodrigues University of Minho

Peter Pope Bocconi University

Gunnar Rimmel University of Reading

Ricardo Stacchezzini University of Verona

Ian Thomson Birmingham Business School

The first public activity of the new committee will be a Symposium at the next EAA conference that will take place in Paphos. The session is planned to be held on Friday 31st, at 14:00-15:30. At the symposium we will have the opportunity to discuss those issues that affect non-financial reporting and the future of the CRC. We kindly invite you to attend the session in which Richard Barker will act as a Chair, and the panelists will be Charles Cho, Mario Abela, Carlos Larrinaga and Begoña Giner.