Foreword

We welcome all of you to the twenty-fourth edition of the Midwest Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Science Conference, April 13-14, 2013 (MAICS 2013) hosted by Indiana University Southeast. In keeping with tradition of MAICS, this version of the conference brings together graduate students, junior and senior faculty along with industry researchers to present and exchange ideas related to numerous topics in artificial intelligence and cognitive science.

This year a program committee of 23 members invited authors to submit papers on relevant subjects that represent new results or research in progress. We accepted 15 papers after a thorough review process that included extended comments and suggestions for the authors. All submitted papers were reviewed by two or more referees and the suggested improvements were shared with the authors. Our deepest appreciation goes to the program committee for their valuable contributions to make this event successful.

The success of the conference depends on many others who contributed to it. We thank our keynote speaker for agreeing to give a lecture and share expertise with the participants. We extend our sincere gratitude to computer science students who volunteered to help, IU Southeast Conference and Catering services, and IU Bloomington Office of Conference and Event Registration Services. Finally we thank our sponsors, the Cognitive Science Society, IU Southeast School of Natural Sciences, Computer Science Department and the Academic Affairs Office for financial and human resource contributions.

We hope you will all enjoy the conference with lively and productive discussions and that MAICS will continue to be a success for many years to come.

Suranga Hettiarachchi, General Chair Ronald Finkbine, General Chair Michael Glass, Program Chair

MAICS-2013 Organization

Suranga Hettiarachchi, *Conference Chair* Ronald Finkbine *Conference Chair* Michael Glass, *Editor*

Program Committee:

Hani Abusalem University of South Carolina-Aiken

James Buckley University of Dayton
Denise Byrnes The College of Wooster
Paul De Palma Gonzaga University
Irene Diaz University of Oviedo

John Doyle Indiana University Southeast
Martha Evens Illinois Institute of Technology
Reva Freedman Northern Illinois University
Atsushi Inoue Eastern Washington University

Jung Hee Kim North Carolina A&T State University

Richard Maclin University of Minnesota Duluth

Toshiyuki Maeda Hannan University
Augustine Nsang University of Cincinnati

Masaki Ogino Kansai University

Anca Ralescu University of Cincinnati Mohammad Rawashdeh University of Cincinnati

Christopher Thomas Kno.e.sis Center, Wright State University

Traian Marius Truta Northern Kentucky University

Kewei Tu Iowa State University Sofia Visa The College of Wooster

Conference sponsored by:

Department of Computer Science, School of Natural Sciences

Indiana University Southeast