First of all I would like to thank the members of the TCDE for having elected me chair. On behalf of the TCDE, I would also like to thank Erich Neuhold for his leadership over the last four years.

The activities of the TCDE are led by an Executive Committee whose members are selected by the chair. I am pleased to announce that the Executive Committee for 2007-2008 consists of Karl Aberer (Switzerland), Masaru Kitsuregawa (Japan), Per-Åke (Paul) Larson, chair, (USA), Sam Lightstone (Canada), David Lomet (USA), Erich Neuhold (Austria), Calton Pu (USA), Thomas Risse (Germany). I thank the outgoing committee for their contributions to the TCDE and welcome new and continuing members to the committee.

I do not anticipate any significant changes in the activities of the TCDE. We will continue to sponsor the International Conference on Data Engineering (ICDE), our yearly flagship conference, and strive to maintain and further enhance its quality and reputation. We have also sponsored a number of smaller conferences and workshops in the area of Data Engineering and will continue to do so. Publication of the Bulletin on Data Engineering will continue with Dave Lomet serving as Editor in Chief. As previously, we will cooperate with ACM Sigmod and the VLDB Foundation on issues of common interest to the data management field.

If you have comments, suggestions or ideas for the TCDE, please contact me (paul.larson@microsoft.com) or any member of the Executive Committee. We would appreciate hearing from you.